ABOUT

aboutus1Citizen Action of New York is a grassroots membership organization taking on big issues that are at the center of transforming society – issues like:

  • quality education and after-school programs for all our kids
  • guaranteed quality, affordable health care
  • public financing of election campaigns
  • dismantling racism and promoting racial justice
  • a more progressive tax system

carolWe look for opportunities to accomplish big changes – not small, incremental reforms. We work to elect progressive candidates to office who are committed to these issues. Our power comes from the grassroots: people coming together to push the edge of the possible. Every new member helps bring New York and America closer to a society that works for all of us!


Citizen Action of New York has eight chapters and affiliates in major cities across New York State. Each is a vibrant local organization with local leadership, paid professional organizing staff, a local agenda and an active, diverse membership. Each has developed a strategy, program and structure to meet the organizing and political challenges that most affect their region. At the same time, all share overall goals and a statewide program. Citizen Action is proud to be affilitated with these national networks: USAction & Alliance for a Just Society. Click here for a current list of employment opportunities and internships available with Citizen Action of New York.

REGIONAL OFFICES

Statewide Office – Capital District

94 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
518.465.4600
Fax: 518.465.2890
info@citizenactionny.org

Southern Tier

477 State Street, Binghamton, NY 13901
607.723.0110
Fax: 607.723.0228
cabing@citizenactionny.org

Western New York

49 Virginia Place, Buffalo, NY 14202
716.855.1522
Fax: 716.855.1521
canywny@citizenactionny.org

New York City

40 Worth Street, Suite 802, NYC, 10013
212.523.0180
Fax: 212.523.0187
canyc@citizenactionny.org

Long Island Progressive Coalition

90 Pennsylvania Ave, Massapequa, NY 11758
516.541.1006
Fax: 516.541.2113
ltyson@lipc.org

Hudson Valley

7 Grand Street, Kingston, NY 12401
615.306.5531 or 203.803.7414
Fax: 866.420.0891
hudsonvalley@citizenactionny.org

Rochester – Metro Justice

167 Flanders Street, Rochester, NY 14619
585.325.2560
Fax: 585.325.2561
colin@metrojustice.org

STAFF DIRECTORY


CAPITAL DISTRICT

Luis Cortes-Aravena

Luis Cortes-Aravena

Community Organizer

347.889.3943 lcortesaravena@citizenactionny.org

Daniel Morrisey

Daniel Morrisey

Community Organizer

518.505.0654 dmorrissey@citizenactionny.org

Sophia Smart

Sophia Smart

Parent and Community Education Organizer

518.300.3546 ssmart@citizenactionny.org


HUDSON VALLEY

Alex Deane

Alex Deane

Community Organizer

615.306.5531 adeane@citizenactionny.org

Callie Jayne

Callie Jayne

Community Organizer

203.803.7414 cjayne@citizenactionny.org


LONG ISLAND PROGRESSIVE COALITION

John Delaney

John Delaney

Office Manager

516.541.1006 x 10 john@lipc.org

Dan Fingas

Dan Fingas

Organizing Director

516.541.1006 x 17 dfingas@lipc.org

Ryan Madden

Ryan Madden

Sustainability Organizer

516.541.1006 x 13 rmadden@lipc.org

Marriele Robinson

Marriele Robinson

Power Up Communities Organizer

516.541.1006 x 14 marriele@lipc.org

Lisa Tyson

Lisa Tyson

Director

516.541.1006 x 11 ltyson@lipc.org

Blanca Villanueva

Blanca Villanueva

Community Organizer

516.541.1006 x 20 blanca@aqeny.org

Olivia Santoro

Olivia Santoro

Community Organizer

516-541-1006 x 12 osantoro@lipc.org


New York City

Darius Gordon

Darius Gordon

Community Organizer

212.523.0180 x 23 dgordon@citizenactionny.org


Rochester – Metro Justice

Colin O'Malley

Colin O'Malley

Organizing Director

716.400.6287 colin@metrojustice.org

Eamonn Scanlon

Eamonn Scanlon

Community Organizer

585.355.2765 eamonn@metrojustice.org


Southern Tier

Mary Clark

Mary Clark

Regional Director

607.723.0110 cabing@citizenactionny.org

Isaac Silberman-Gorn

Isaac Silberman-Gorn

Community Organizer

607.723.0110 isilbermangorn@citizenactionny.org


Western New York


Central Staff

Charlie Albanetti

Charlie Albanetti

Communications Director

518.465.4600 x 121 calbanetti@citizenactionny.org

Kristina Andreotta

Kristina Andreotta

Deputy Organizing Director

212.523.0180 x 23 kandreotta@citizenactionny.org

Camille Campolo

Camille Campolo

Bookkeeper

518.465.4600 x 107 ccampolo@nexusmanagement.org

Blue Carreker

Blue Carreker

Campaigns Manager

518.465.4600 x 126 bcarreker@citizenactionny.org

Bob Cohen

Bob Cohen

Policy Director

518.465.4600 x 104 bcohen@citizenactionny.org

Stanley Fritz

Stanley Fritz

Communications Associate

212.523.0180  sfritz@citizenactionny.org

Anthony Lloyd

Anthony Lloyd

Finance Director

518.465.4600 x 111 alloyd@nexusmanagement.org

Roberto LoBianco

Roberto LoBianco

Communications Manager

518.465.4600 x 125 rlobianco@citizenactionny.org

Joe McLaughlin

Joe McLaughlin

Data and Communications Coordinator

518.465.4600 x 114 jmclaughlin@citizenactionny.org

Ariela Perez-Wallach

Ariela Perez-Wallach

Program Assistant

518.465.4600 x 122 aperezwallach@citizenactionny.org

Rosemary Rivera

Rosemary Rivera

Organizing Director

585.520.6542 rrivera@citizenactionny.org

Karen Scharff

Karen Scharff

Executive Director

518.465.4600 x 112 kscharff@citizenactionny.org

Jessica Wisneski

Jessica Wisneski

Legislative and Campaigns Director

845.901.0264 jwisneski@citizenactionny.org

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Officers

Ivette Alfonso, President – Capital District

Jim Anderson, Vice President – At-Large

Margaret Segall, Secretary – New York City

Scott Sommer, Treasurer – UAW

Members

Bobby Black – At-Large

Ruthly Cadestin – New York City

Michael Compain – Hudson Valley

Jeff Friedman – Long Island Progressive Coalition

Margarita Hernandez – CWA

Barbara Holtzman – Hudson Valley

Larry Knox – Metro Justice

Frank Llewellyn – DSA

Sahar Massachi – At-Large

Jamaica Miles – At-Large

James Payne – Western New York

Cory Ray – Southern Tier

Therese Revesz – At-Large

Mark Schaeffer – Capital District

Melissa Smythe – Western New York

David Sprintzen – Long Island Progressive Coalition

Jerry Wein – Metro Justice

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK FUNDERS

Below is a list of individuals and organizations that have donated $5,000 or more to Citizen Action of New York in 2014.

1199SEIU United Healthcare
CSEA Local 100
Communications Workers of America
Connecticut Citizen Action Group
Rosemary Faulkner
Friends of Democracy
Gersowitz, Libo & Korek PC
Local 32BJ SEIU
Long Island Progressive Coalition
New York State Nurses Association
New Yorkers for Fiscal Fairness
NYSUT
Proteus Funds
William Samuels
See Forward Fund, Inc.
SEIU
Strong Economy for All Coalition
Transport Workers Local 100
United Federation of Teachers
Zephyr for New York

Pin It on Pinterest