ABOUT

aboutus1Citizen Action of New York is a grassroots membership organization taking on big issues that are at the center of transforming society – issues like:

  • quality education and after-school programs for all our kids
  • guaranteed quality, affordable health care
  • public financing of election campaigns
  • dismantling racism and promoting racial justice
  • a more progressive tax system

carolWe look for opportunities to accomplish big changes – not small, incremental reforms. We work to elect progressive candidates to office who are committed to these issues.

Our power comes from the grassroots: people coming together to push the edge of the possible. Every new member helps bring New York and America closer to a society that works for all of us!


Citizen Action of New York has eight chapters and affiliates in major cities across New York State. Each is a vibrant local organization with local leadership, paid professional organizing staff, a local agenda and an active, diverse membership. Each has developed a strategy, program and structure to meet the organizing and political challenges that most affect their region. At the same time, all share overall goals and a statewide program.

Citizen Action is proud to be affilitated with these national networks: USAction & Alliance for a Just Society.

Click here for a current list of employment opportunities and internships available with Citizen Action of New York.


REGIONAL OFFICES

Statewide Office – Capital District

94 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
518.465.4600 Fax: 518.465.2890
info@citizenactionny.org

Southern Tier

477 State Street, Binghamton, NY 13901
607.723.0110 Fax: 607.723.0228
cabing@citizenactionny.org

Western New York

49 Virginia Place, Buffalo, NY 14202
716.855.1522 Fax: 716.855.1521
canywny@citizenactionny.org

New York City

40 Worth Street, Suite 802, NYC, 10013
212.523.0180 Fax: 212.523.0187
canyc@citizenactionny.org

Central New York

2013 E. Gennesee Street, Syracuse, NY 13210
315.435.2480 Fax: 315.435.2481
syracuse@citizenactionny.org

Long Island Progressive Coalition

90 Pennsylvania Ave, Massapequa, NY 11758
516.541.1006 Fax: 516.541.2113
ltyson@lipc.org

Hudson Valley

516 Broadway, Suite 4, Kingston, NY 12401
845.637.0174
hudsonvalley@citizenactionny.org

Rochester – Metro Justice

167 Flanders Street, Rochester, NY 14619
585.325.2560 Fax: 585.325.2561
colin@metrojustice.org


STAFF DIRECTORY


CAPITAL DISTRICT

Mark Emanatian

Mark Emanatian

Capital District Organizer

518.465.4600 x 115
memanatian@citizenactionny.org

HUDSON VALLEY

Kat Fisher

Kat Fisher

Lead Organizer

845.637.0174
kfisher@citizenactionny.org
Natajah Roberts

Natajah Roberts

Community Organizer

518.776.0227
nroberts@citizenactionny.org


LONG ISLAND PROGRESSIVE COALITION

John Delaney

John Delaney

Office Manager

516.541.1006 x 10
john@lipc.org

Dan Fingas

Dan Fingas

Organizing Director

516.541.1006 x 17
dfingas@lipc.org
Rashad Mitchell

Rashad Mitchell

Power Up Communities Organizer

516.541.1006 x 13
rmitchell@lipc.org

Marriele Robinson

Marriele Robinson

Power Up Communities Organizer

516.541.1006 x 14
marriele@lipc.org

Lisa Tyson

Lisa Tyson

Director

516.541.1006 x 11
ltyson@lipc.org
Blanca Villanueva

Blanca Villanueva

Community Organizer

516.541.1006 x 20
blanca@aqeny.org
Olivia Santoro

Olivia Santoro

Community Organizer

516-541-1006 x 12
osantoro@lipc.org


New York City

Darius Gordon

Darius Gordon

Community Organizer

212.523.0180 x 23
dgordon@citizenactionny.org

Rochester – Metro Justice

Colin O'Malley

Colin O'Malley

Organizing Director

716.400.6287
colin@metrojustice.org
Eamonn Scanlon

Eamonn Scanlon

Community Organizer

585.355.2765
eamonn@metrojustice.org


Southern Tier

Mary Clark

Mary Clark

Regional Director

607.723.0110
cabing@citizenactionny.org
Larry Parham

Larry Parham

Upstate Campaigns Manager

607.743.5877
lparham@citizenactionny.org
Isaac Silberman-Gorn

Isaac Silberman-Gorn

Community Organizer

607.723.0110
isilbermangorn@citizenactionny.org

Western New York

Karima Devonshire

Karima Devonshire

Community Organizer

716.855.1522
kdevonshire@citizenactionny.org
Asim Johnson

Asim Johnson

Community Organizer

716.855.1522 x 3
ajohnson@citizenactionny.org
Brian Trzeciak

Brian Trzeciak

Lead Organizer

716.855.1522 x 5
btrzeciak@citizenactionny.org

Statewide Staff – Albany

Charlie Albanetti

Charlie Albanetti

Communications Director

518.465.4600 x 121
calbanetti@citizenactionny.org
Kristina Andreotta

Kristina Andreotta

Deputy Organizing Director

212.523.0180 x 23
kandreotta@citizenactionny.org
Camille Campolo

Camille Campolo

Bookkeeper

518.465.4600 x 107
ccampolo@nexusmanagement.org

Blue Carreker

Blue Carreker

Campaigns Manager

518.465.4600 x 126
bcarreker@citizenactionny.org
Bob Cohen

Bob Cohen

Policy Director

518.465.4600 x 104
bcohen@citizenactionny.org
Melissa Fleck

Melissa Fleck

Executive Assistant

518.465.4600 x 122
mfleck@citizenactionny.org
Anthony Lloyd

Anthony Lloyd

Finance Director

518.465.4600 x 111
alloyd@nexusmanagement.org

Roberto LoBianco

Roberto LoBianco

Communications Manager

518.465.4600 x 125
rlobianco@citizenactionny.org

Joe McLaughlin

Joe McLaughlin

Data and Communications Coordinator

518.465.4600 x 114
jmclaughlin@citizenactionny.org
Rosemary Rivera

Rosemary Rivera

Organizing Director

585.520.6542
rrivera@citizenactionny.org
Karen Scharff

Karen Scharff

Executive Director

518.465.4600 x 112
kscharff@citizenactionny.org
Jessica Wisneski

Jessica Wisneski

Legislative and Campaigns Director

845.901.0264
jwisneski@citizenactionny.org

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Officers

Ivette Alfonso, President
Capital District

Jim Anderson, Vice President
At-Large

Paula Hansen, Secretary
Metro Justice (Rochester)

Scott Sommer, Treasurer
UAW

Members

Matt Bishop
New York City

Angela Blue
Western New York

Linda Chapman
Southern Tier

Michael Compain
At-Large

Jeff Friedman
Long Island Progressive Coalition

Eileen Hamlin
Southern Tier

Sahar Massachi
Metro Justice (Rochester)

Frank Llewellyn
DSA

Bob Master
CWA

James Payne
Western New York

Frank Puig
At-Large

Therese Revesz
At-Large

Mark Schaeffer
Capital District

Margaret Segall
New York City

Imogene Simmons-Kelly
At-Large

David Sprintzen
Long Island Progressive Coalition


CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK FUNDERS

Below is a list of individuals and organizations that have donated $5,000 or more to Citizen Action of New York in 2012 and 2013.

1199SEIU
32BJ SEIU
Alliance for Quality Education
Citizen Action Fuel Group
Community Service Society of New York
CWA
CWA Local 1101
CWA Local 1180
Empire State Pride Agenda
Essex County Community Foundation
Rosemary Faulkner
Food and Water Watch
Friends of Democracy
New York State Immigrant Action Fund
New York State Nurses Association
New York State Trial Lawyers Association
NYSUT
Morris Pearl
Proteus Funds
Reynders McVeigh JP Morgan
See Forward Fund, Inc.
SEIU
Strong Economy for All Coalition
UAW
UAW Region 9
USAction

Pin It on Pinterest