ABOUT

aboutus1Citizen Action of New York is a grassroots membership organization taking on big issues that are at the center of transforming society – issues like:

  • quality education and after-school programs for all our kids
  • guaranteed quality, affordable health care
  • public financing of election campaigns
  • dismantling racism and promoting racial justice
  • a more progressive tax system

carolWe look for opportunities to accomplish big changes – not small, incremental reforms. We work to elect progressive candidates to office who are committed to these issues. Our power comes from the grassroots: people coming together to push the edge of the possible. Every new member helps bring New York and America closer to a society that works for all of us!


Citizen Action of New York has eight chapters and affiliates in major cities across New York State. Each is a vibrant local organization with local leadership, paid professional organizing staff, a local agenda and an active, diverse membership. Each has developed a strategy, program and structure to meet the organizing and political challenges that most affect their region. At the same time, all share overall goals and a statewide program. Citizen Action is proud to be affiliated at the national level with People’s Action. Click here for a current list of employment opportunities and internships available with Citizen Action of New York.

REGIONAL OFFICES

Statewide Office – Capital District

94 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
518.465.4600
Fax: 518.465.2890
info@citizenactionny.org

Southern Tier

477 State Street, Binghamton, NY 13901
607.723.0110
Fax: 607.723.0228
southerntier@citizenactionny.org

Western New York

1439 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14209
716.855.1522
Fax: 716.855.1521
westernny@citizenactionny.org

Central New York

40 Faxton St., Utica, NY 13501
315.725.0974
centralny@citizenactionny.org

New York City

40 Worth Street, Suite 802, NYC, 10013
212.523.0180
Fax: 212.523.0187
nyc@citizenactionny.org

Long Island Progressive Coalition

90 Pennsylvania Ave, Massapequa, NY 11758
516.541.1006
Fax: 516.541.2113
administration@lipc.org

Hudson Valley

7 Grand Street, Kingston, NY 12401
845.802.0199
Fax: 866.420.0891
hudsonvalley@citizenactionny.org

Rochester

515 State St, Rochester, NY 14608

STAFF DIRECTORY


CAPITAL DISTRICT

Debra Griffin-Daza

Debra Griffin-Daza

Community Organizer

631.520.3454
dgriffindaza@citizenactionny.org

Jamaica Miles

Jamaica Miles

Lead Organizer

518.496.0799 jmiles@citizenactionny.org


CENTRAL NEW YORK

Joel Ruiz

Joel Ruiz

Organizer

jruiz@citizenactionny.org


HUDSON VALLEY

Quintin Cross

Quintin Cross

Lead Organizer

518.512.7893
qcross@citizenactionny.org

Andrew Falk

Andrew Falk

Organizer

914.629.4089
afalk@citizenactionny.org


LONG ISLAND PROGRESSIVE COALITION

Nia Adams

Nia Adams

Community Organizer

516.541.1006 x 12 nadams@lipc.org

John Delaney

John Delaney

Office Manager

516.541.1006 x 10 john@lipc.org

Dan Fingas

Dan Fingas

Organizing Director

516.541.1006 x 17 dfingas@lipc.org

Ryan Madden

Ryan Madden

Sustainability Organizer

516.541.1006 x 13 rmadden@lipc.org

Lisa Tyson

Lisa Tyson

Director

516.541.1006 x 11 ltyson@lipc.org

Blanca Villanueva

Blanca Villanueva

Community Organizer

516.541.1006 x 20 blanca@aqeny.org


New York City

Semhar Dory

Semhar Dory

Community Organizer

714.345.8202 sdory@citizenactionny.org

Stanley Fritz

Stanley Fritz

NYC Campaign Manager

347.208.4919 sfritz@citizenactionny.org


Rochester

Mercedes Phelan

Mercedes Phelan

Lead Organizer

585.698.7413 mphelan@citizenactionny.org


Southern Tier

Mary Clark

Mary Clark

Regional Director

607.723.0110 cabing@citizenactionny.org

Amber Johnson

Amber Johnson

Community Organizer

607.723.0110 ajohnson@citizenactionny.org


Western New York

Danielle Conie

Danielle Conie

Community Organizer

dconie@citizenactionny.org

Charlie Rodriguez

Charlie Rodriguez

Lead Community Organizer

crodriguez@citizenactionny.org


Central Staff

Charlie Albanetti

Charlie Albanetti

Managing Director

518.465.4600 x 121 calbanetti@citizenactionny.org

Camille Campolo

Camille Campolo

Bookkeeper

518.465.4600 x 107 ccampolo@nexusmanagement.org

Blue Carreker

Blue Carreker

Campaigns Manager

518.465.4600 x 126 bcarreker@citizenactionny.org

Brianna Casserly

Brianna Casserly

Administrative Assistant

585.615.2807 bcasserly@citizenactionny.org

Bob Cohen

Bob Cohen

Policy Director

518.465.4600 x 104 bcohen@citizenactionny.org

Anthony Lloyd

Anthony Lloyd

Finance Director

518.465.4600 x 111 alloyd@nexusmanagement.org

Roberto LoBianco

Roberto LoBianco

Communications Manager

518.465.4600 x 125 rlobianco@citizenactionny.org

Ravi Mangla

Ravi Mangla

Communications Manager

585.507.1204 rmangla@citizenactionny.org

Rosemary Rivera

Rosemary Rivera

Statewide Director of Organizing and Training

585.520.6542 rrivera@citizenactionny.org

Karen Scharff

Karen Scharff

Executive Director

518.465.4600 x 112 kscharff@citizenactionny.org

Andrew Tarwerdi

Andrew Tarwerdi

Membership and Outreach Coordinator

518.465.4600 x 122 atarwerdi@citizenactionny.org

Jessica Wisneski

Jessica Wisneski

Deputy Director

845.901.0264 jwisneski@citizenactionny.org

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Officers

Ivette Alfonso, President – Capital District

Jim Anderson, Vice President – At-Large

Margaret Segall, Secretary – New York City

Ruthly Cadestin, Treasurer – New York City

Members

Hae-Lin Choi – CWA

Michael Compain – Hudson Valley

Shana Dahlin – Central New York

Aviva Friedman – Southern Tier

John Furman – At-Large

Jeff Garrison – Southern Tier

Dawn Laguerre – Central New York

Jesse Laymon – At-Large

Frank Llewellyn – DSA

Paul Merkelson – Long Island Progressive Coalition

Larry Parham – At-Large

Lydia Rodriguez – At-Large

Mark Schaeffer – Capital District

David Sprintzen – Long Island Progressive Coalition

Rashida Tyler – Hudson Valley