ABOUT

aboutus1Citizen Action of New York is a grassroots membership organization taking on big issues that are at the center of transforming society – issues like:

  • quality education and after-school programs for all our kids
  • guaranteed quality, affordable health care
  • public financing of election campaigns
  • dismantling racism and promoting racial justice
  • a more progressive tax system

carolWe look for opportunities to accomplish big changes – not small, incremental reforms. We work to elect progressive candidates to office who are committed to these issues. Our power comes from the grassroots: people coming together to push the edge of the possible. Every new member helps bring New York and America closer to a society that works for all of us!


Citizen Action of New York has eight chapters and affiliates in major cities across New York State. Each is a vibrant local organization with local leadership, paid professional organizing staff, a local agenda and an active, diverse membership. Each has developed a strategy, program and structure to meet the organizing and political challenges that most affect their region. At the same time, all share overall goals and a statewide program. Citizen Action is proud to be affiliated at the national level with People’s Action. Click here for a current list of employment opportunities and internships available with Citizen Action of New York.

REGIONAL OFFICES

Statewide Office – Capital District

94 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
518.465.4600
Fax: 518.465.2890
info@citizenactionny.org

Southern Tier

477 State Street, Binghamton, NY 13901
607.723.0110
Fax: 607.723.0228
cabing@citizenactionny.org

Western New York

49 Virginia Place, Buffalo, NY 14202
716.855.1522
Fax: 716.855.1521
canywny@citizenactionny.org

Central New York

P.O. Box 411; Utica, NY 13503
315.725.0974
cnycitizenaction@gmail.com

New York City

40 Worth Street, Suite 802, NYC, 10013
212.523.0180
Fax: 212.523.0187
canyc@citizenactionny.org

Long Island Progressive Coalition

90 Pennsylvania Ave, Massapequa, NY 11758
516.541.1006
Fax: 516.541.2113
ltyson@lipc.org

Hudson Valley

7 Grand Street, Kingston, NY 12401
203.803.7414
Fax: 866.420.0891
hudsonvalley@citizenactionny.org

Rochester – Metro Justice

1115 E Main St, Suite 207A, Rochester, NY 14609
585.397.3540
colin@metrojustice.org

STAFF DIRECTORY


CAPITAL DISTRICT

Jamaica Miles

Jamaica Miles

Lead Organizer

518.496.0799 jmiles@citizenactionny.org
Shondria Smith

Shondria Smith

Community Organizer

678.362.9418
ssmith@citizenactionny.org


CENTRAL NEW YORK

Kristina Andreotta

Kristina Andreotta

Lead Organizer

315.360.2441 kandreotta@citizenactionny.org


HUDSON VALLEY

Callie Jayne

Callie Jayne

Lead Organizer

203.803.7414 cjayne@citizenactionny.org
Oriana Mayorga

Oriana Mayorga

Community Organizer

914.536.5559  omayorga@citizenactionny.org


LONG ISLAND PROGRESSIVE COALITION

John Delaney

John Delaney

Office Manager

516.541.1006 x 10 john@lipc.org
Dan Fingas

Dan Fingas

Organizing Director

516.541.1006 x 17 dfingas@lipc.org
Ryan Madden

Ryan Madden

Sustainability Organizer

516.541.1006 x 13 rmadden@lipc.org
Lisa Tyson

Lisa Tyson

Director

516.541.1006 x 11 ltyson@lipc.org
Blanca Villanueva

Blanca Villanueva

Community Organizer

516.541.1006 x 20 blanca@aqeny.org

New York City

Semhar Dory

Semhar Dory

Community Organizer

714.345.8202 sdory@citizenactionny.org
Stanley Fritz

Stanley Fritz

NYC Campaign Manager

347.208.4919 sfritz@citizenactionny.org


Rochester – Metro Justice

Colin O'Malley

Colin O'Malley

Organizing Director

716.400.6287 colin@metrojustice.org
Mercedes Phelan

Mercedes Phelan

Community Organizer

585.698.7413 mercedes@metrojustice.org


Southern Tier

Mary Clark

Mary Clark

Regional Director

607.723.0110 cabing@citizenactionny.org
Amber Johnson

Amber Johnson

Community Organizer

607.723.0110 ajohnson@citizenactionny.org


Western New York

Samantha Nephew

Samantha Nephew

Community Organizer


Central Staff

Charlie Albanetti

Charlie Albanetti

Managing Director

518.465.4600 x 121 calbanetti@citizenactionny.org

Camille Campolo

Camille Campolo

Bookkeeper

518.465.4600 x 107 ccampolo@nexusmanagement.org
Blue Carreker

Blue Carreker

Campaigns Manager

518.465.4600 x 126 bcarreker@citizenactionny.org
Bob Cohen

Bob Cohen

Policy Director

518.465.4600 x 104 bcohen@citizenactionny.org
Anthony Lloyd

Anthony Lloyd

Finance Director

518.465.4600 x 111 alloyd@nexusmanagement.org
Roberto LoBianco

Roberto LoBianco

Communications Manager

518.465.4600 x 125 rlobianco@citizenactionny.org
Ravi Mangla

Ravi Mangla

Communications Manager

585.507.1204 rmangla@citizenactionny.org

Rosemary Rivera

Rosemary Rivera

Statewide Director of Organizing and Training

585.520.6542 rrivera@citizenactionny.org

Karen Scharff

Karen Scharff

Executive Director

518.465.4600 x 112 kscharff@citizenactionny.org
Andrew Tarwerdi

Andrew Tarwerdi

Membership and Outreach Coordinator

518.465.4600 x 122 atarwerdi@citizenactionny.org

Jessica Wisneski

Jessica Wisneski

Deputy Director

845.901.0264 jwisneski@citizenactionny.org

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Officers

Ivette Alfonso, President – Capital District

Jim Anderson, Vice President – At-Large

Margaret Segall, Secretary – New York City

Scott Sommer, Treasurer – UAW

Members

Ruthly Cadestin – New York City

Hae-Lin Choi – CWA

Michael Compain – Hudson Valley

Aviva Friedman – Southern Tier

John Furman – At-Large

Larry Knox – Metro Justice

Frank Llewellyn – DSA

Paul Merkelson – Long Island Progressive Coalition

Larry Parham – At-Large

Cory Ray – Southern Tier

Lydia Rodriguez – At-Large

Mark Schaeffer – Capital District

Eve Shippens – Western New York

David Sprintzen – Long Island Progressive Coalition

Rashida Tyler – Hudson Valley

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK FUNDERS

Below is a list of individuals and organizations that have donated $5,000 or more to Citizen Action of New York in 2014.

1199SEIU United Healthcare
CSEA Local 100
Communications Workers of America
Connecticut Citizen Action Group
Rosemary Faulkner
Friends of Democracy
Gersowitz, Libo & Korek PC
Local 32BJ SEIU
Long Island Progressive Coalition
New York State Nurses Association
New Yorkers for Fiscal Fairness
NYSUT
Proteus Funds
William Samuels
See Forward Fund, Inc.
SEIU
Strong Economy for All Coalition
Transport Workers Local 100
United Federation of Teachers
Zephyr for New York

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK LOBBYING DISCLOSURE

Below are links to Citizen Action of New York’s lobbying disclosure reports, collected and posted by the NYS Joint Commission on Public Ethics.

2017-2018
2015-2016

Pin It on Pinterest