WHO WE ARE 

Citizen Action of New York is a grassroots membership organization taking on big issues that are at the center of transforming society by:

 

  • Ensuring our children have a quality public education no matter their zip code
  • Ending our current system of mass incarceration and establishing a new system of justice
  • Ensuring quality affordable housing for all
  • Fighting for guaranteed quality, affordable health care
  • Taking big money out of politics by creating a fair elections system
  • Aiming to dismantle the historic racist system by promoting racial justice
  • Striving for a more progressive tax system to begin to end the runaway inequality in our state

 

We look for opportunities to accomplish big changes – not small, incremental reforms. We work to elect progressive candidates to office who are committed to these issues. Our power comes from the grassroots: people coming together to push the edge of the possible. Every new member helps bring New York and America closer to a society that works for all of us!

 

VISION

Winning the world that we want is possible. It’s a world that meets every person’s basic needs. It’s a world full of opportunity, love, respect and dignity. It’s a world where democracy reigns and each person is able to reach their fullest potential. It’s a world worth fighting for, but one that will only exist if we work together.

MISSION

To achieve our vision, we fight for social, racial, economic and environmental justice.  We are battling against the forces of capitalism and racism that show themselves through inequality and bigotry, and work together to oppress most people. Greed, racism, patriarchy and other systems of oppression permeate the fabric of our lives – through economics, education, housing, technological advancements, health care, the environment, and our criminal legal system.

We build power for justice by working in strategic alliance with other organizations that share our vision. As we unite with other organizations, our focus remains on communities that are most impacted. We focus our organizing on low income communities and communities of color as we build a multi-racial organization. We approach our issue work on a trajectory of structural reforms, taking on issues that make people’s lives better today while creating the political and ideological environment for transformational change. We work statewide to elect progressive candidates who will enact our priorities into legislation, and strategically integrating issue and electoral work.

Our strategic approach to our work combines grassroots organizing, leadership development and political education while strategically communicating with the people. We win campaigns that have a direct impact on people’s lives, we build the infrastructure to develop more power, and we are constantly changing hearts and minds across New York State in order to spread our vision and change what’s possible to win.

REGIONAL OFFICES

 

Citizen Action of New York has eight chapters and affiliates in major cities across New York State. Each is a vibrant local organization with local leadership, paid professional organizing staff, a local agenda and an active, diverse membership. Each has developed a strategy, program and structure to meet the organizing and political challenges that most affect their region. At the same time, all share overall goals and a statewide program. Citizen Action is proud to be affiliated at the national level with People’s Action. Click here for a current list of employment opportunities and internships available with Citizen Action of New York.

Statewide Office – Capital District

94 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
518.465.4600
Fax: 518.465.2890
info@citizenactionny.org

SOUTHERN TIER

477 State Street, Binghamton, NY 13901
607.723.0110
southerntier@citizenactionny.org

Western New York

1439 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14209
716.855.1522
westernny@citizenactionny.org

Central New York

500 Plant St., Utica, NY 13502
315.725.0974
centralny@citizenactionny.org

New York City

40 Worth Street, Suite 802, NYC, 10013
212.523.0180
nyc@citizenactionny.org

Long Island Progressive Coalition

90 Pennsylvania Ave, Massapequa, NY 11758
516.541.1006
administration@lipc.org

Hudson Valley

7 Grand Street, Kingston, NY 12401
845.802.0199
hudsonvalley@citizenactionny.org

Rochester

515 State St, Rochester, NY 14608
585.510.6118
rochester@citizenactionny.org

STAFF DIRECTORY


CAPITAL DISTRICT

Amy Jones

Amy Jones

Community Organizer

518.542.6854
ajones@citizenactionny.org


CENTRAL NEW YORK

Kristina Andreotta

Kristina Andreotta

Lead Organizer

315.360.2441
kandreotta@citizenactionny.org


HUDSON VALLEY

Fanon Frazier

Fanon Frazier

Community Organizer

845.750.0295
ffrazier@citizenactionny.org


LONG ISLAND PROGRESSIVE COALITION

Nia Adams

Nia Adams

Community Organizer

516.541.1006 x 12 nadams@lipc.org

Ryan Madden

Ryan Madden

Sustainability Organizer

516.541.1006 x 13 rmadden@lipc.org

Lisa Tyson

Lisa Tyson

Director

516.541.1006 x 11
ltyson@lipc.org


New York City

Semhar Dory

Semhar Dory

Lead Organizer

714.345.8202 sdory@citizenactionny.org

Stanley Fritz

Stanley Fritz

NYC Campaigns Manager

347.208.4919 sfritz@citizenactionny.org

Courtney miller

Courtney miller

Community Organizer

cmiller@citizenactionny.org


Rochester

Mercedes Phelan

Mercedes Phelan

Lead Organizer

585.698.7413 mphelan@citizenactionny.org

stevie vargas

stevie vargas

Community Organizer

321.318.1287 svargas@citizenactionny.org


Southern Tier

Mary Clark

Mary Clark

Regional Director

607.723.0110 cabing@citizenactionny.org

Amber Johnson

Amber Johnson

Community Organizer

607.723.0110 ajohnson@citizenactionny.org


Western New York

Sara Palmer

Sara Palmer

Lead Organizer

716.427.4933
spalmer@citizenactionny.org


Central Staff

Charlie Albanetti

Charlie Albanetti

Managing Director

518.465.4600 x 121 calbanetti@citizenactionny.org

Camille Campolo

Camille Campolo

Bookkeeper

518.465.4600 x 107 ccampolo@nexusmanagement.org

Blue Carreker

Blue Carreker

Campaigns Manager

518.465.4600 x 126 bcarreker@citizenactionny.org

Bob Cohen

Bob Cohen

Policy Director

518.465.4600 x 104 bcohen@citizenactionny.org

 Sherry Crescini

Sherry Crescini

Finance Coordinator

screscini@nexusmanagement.org
lisa dahdah

lisa dahdah

Grants Manager

ldahdah@citizenactionny.org

Rebecca garrard

Rebecca garrard

Statewide Organizer

845.797.9210
rgarrard@citizenactionny.org

Erin George

Erin George

Civil Rights Campaigns Director

408.691.7372 egeorge@citizenactionny.org

Virginia Hanley

Virginia Hanley

Operations Coordinator

347.842.6254 vhanley@citizenactionny.org

Clyanna Lightbourn

Clyanna Lightbourn

Statewide Civil Rights Organizer

305.798.5992
clightbourn@citizenactionny.org
Anthony Lloyd

Anthony Lloyd

Finance Director

518.465.4600 x 026 alloyd@nexusmanagement.org

Roberto LoBianco

Roberto LoBianco

Communications Director

917.287.6422
rlobianco@citizenactionny.org

Ravi Mangla

Ravi Mangla

Political Education Program Manager

585.507.1204 rmangla@citizenactionny.org

Jamaica Miles

Jamaica Miles

State Organizing and Training Director

518.496.0799 jmiles@citizenactionny.org

Tasha Mitchell

Tasha Mitchell

Communications Manager

646-801-6728 tmitchell@citizenactionny.org

Rosemary Rivera

Rosemary Rivera

Co-Executive Director

585.520.6542 rrivera@citizenactionny.org

Andrew Tarwerdi

Andrew Tarwerdi

Data and Membership Coordinator

518.925.1316 atarwerdi@citizenactionny.org

Ryan Test

Ryan Test

Technology Coordinator

rtest@citizenactionny.org
Jessica Wisneski

Jessica Wisneski

Co-Executive Director

845.901.0264 jwisneski@citizenactionny.org

 

 

 

CITIZEN ACTION OF NEW YORK BOARD OF DIRECTORS

 

Officers

 

Ivette Alfonso, President – Capital District 

 

Jim Anderson, Vice President – At-Large 

 

Margaret Segall, Secretary – New York City 

 

Ruthly Cadestin, Treasurer – New York City

 

Members

 

Hae-Lin Choi – Communications Workers of America

 

Shana Dahlin – Central New York 

 

Aviva Friedman – Southern Tier 

 

John Furman – At-Large 

 

Jeff Garrison – Southern Tier 

 

Dawn Laguerre – Central New York 

 

Jesse Laymon – At-Large 

 

Frank Llewellyn – Democratic Socialists of America 

 

Paul Merkelson – Long Island Progressive Coalition 

 

Larry Parham – At-Large 

 

Lydia Rodriguez – At-Large

 

Loriman Rhodell – Hudson Valley 

 

Mark Schaeffer – Capital District 

 

Rashida Tyler – Hudson Valley